Hayward Aikido   Martial arts school


Iaido (the art of drawing the sword) traces its origins to the late 16th century in Japan. It was developed by Hayashizaki Shigenobu. Though an established fact that some Iai-jutsu was practiced within other schools prior to Hayashizaki’s birth, he is credited with the creation of the system of Iai which we know today as Muso Shinden Ryu, which was actually developed based on a vision that Hayashizaki received in a dream, and which he referred to as Batto-Ho. The traditions and forms of Muso Shinden Ryu were transmitted through successive generations of swordsmen, amoung them Nakayama Hakudo Sensei, commonly recognized as one of the two foremost martial artists of the Meiji Era (O’Sensei being the other).

One of Nakayama Sensei’s foremost students, Mitsuzuka Takeshi Sensei, established himself in Tokyo and continued the teachings of the Muso Shinden Ryu as transmitted to him by Nakayama Sensei.

The Iaido we practice at Hayward Aikido is Iai Batto-Ho (Sword-drawing method), which combines the three major disciplines (aikido, Batto-Ho and Zen) in order to establish the martial root and culture within our practice. Swordsmanship played a significant role in the development of the warrior culture in Japan, and can play the same role in the development of future generations of Aikidoists.

The techniques of Iai Batto-Ho are derived from two major schools within Japan. From Muso Shinden Ryu we utilize the 12 techniques of Shoden (Omori Ryu) and the 10 techniques of Chuden. From Shindo Munen Ryu we incorporate the 12 forms and use them as our Tachi Iai (standing forms). The forms are listed below:

Iai Batto-Ho Techniques

SHODEN (Omori Ryu)

  1. Sho Hattoh
  2. Sa Toh
  3. U Toh
  4. Atari Toh
  5. Inyo Shintai
  6. Ryu Toh
  7. Jyun Toh
  8. Gyaku Toh
  9. Seichu Toh
  10. Koran Toh
  11. Gyakute Inyo Shintai
  12. Battoh

CHUDEN (Hasegawa Eishin Ryu)

  1. Yoko Gumo
  2. Tora Issoku
  3. Inazuma
  4. Uki Gumo
  5. Yamashita Arashi
  6. Iwanami
  7. Uroku Gaeshi
  8. Nami Gaeshi
  9. Taki Otoshi
  10. Nuki Uchi

Shindo Munen Ryu - Iai Batto Ho Tachi Iai (Standing Forms)

  1. Iwa Nami
  2. Ukifune Gaeshi
  3. No Arashi Gaeshi
  4. Utsu Semi
  5. Matsu Kaze
  6. Zangetsu Hidari
  7. Zangetsu Migi
  8. Dotoh Gaeshi
  9. Raitoh Gaeshi
  10. Yoh Toh
  11. In Toh
  12. Inazuma Gaeshi